30 District And Upazila Chairman Resigned

30 District And Upazila Chairman Resigned

Chairman of 30 District and Upazila Parishads. They have submitted their resignations to the local government department secretary. They have already collected the signatures of 1 percent of the voters to be candidates.

November 30 is the last day for submission of nomination papers. An official of the local government department said that the number of resignations will increase during this period. Most of the resigned candidates will be elected as independent candidates this time.

However, some chairmen have received nominations from Awami League. Among them are chairman of Patia of Chittagong, Shalla of Sunamganj, Satkhira Sadar, Muktagachha of Mymensingh, Karimganj of Kishoreganj. According to the rules, they also resigned.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina said during an exchange of views with Awami League nominees at Ganabhaban last Sunday, that alternative candidates should be kept to prevent unopposed winning. Upazila and Zilla Parishad chairmen are resigning in hope of the Prime Minister’s speech.

Sadar Upazila Parishad Chairman Imdadul Haque Biswas is an independent candidate for the post of Member of Parliament in Rajbari-1 Constituency. Former Education Minister Kazi Keramat Ali has been nominated by Awami League for the sixth time from this seat.

In Chapainawabganj-1 (Shibganj) Constituency, the current Member of Parliament Samil Uddin Ahmed has received party nomination. Shibganj Upazila Parishad Chairman Syed Nazrul Islam is an independent candidate for this seat.

Tanveer Hasan alias Chhota Monir has been nominated by the party for Tangail-II (Gopalpur-Bhuyapur) seat. Gopalpur Upazila Parishad Chairman Yunus Islam Talukdar is an independent candidate for this seat.

Satkhira Sadar Upazila Parishad Chairman Asaduzzaman got the first boat symbol this time. He resigned to run for election.

Kurigram Zilla Parishad Chairman Zafar Ali, Jessore Zilla Parishad Member Azizur Islam resigned. Dhamrai Upazila Chairman Mohaddes Hossain of Dhaka, SM Al Mamun of Sitakunda of Chittagong, Jannatul Ferdous of Durgapur of Netrokona, Zahidul Islam of Faridganj of Chandpur are among those who resigned from the Upazila Parishad.

Several other Upazila Parishad chairman resignations have been reported. Laxmipur Sadar Upazila Chairman Salah Uddin is among them. He wants to get elected from Lakshmipur-3 (Sadar) seat.

here now More: prothomalo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *